Current position:Home >> Market segmentation

What is market segmentation and positioning?

Market segmentation is a process to divide the entire market for certain product into key customer subsets, or segment, whose members share similar needs and desires, purchase behavior and habits.

Market positioning means based on market segmentation, the enterprise creates its own product and image for the target market, and set up a unique and valuable impression in its target consumer group. In another word, through market positioning, the enterprise can set up a unique impression of its product in consumer’s mind which will overshadow that of its competitor.

 

What kind of business problems can be solved by market segmentation and positioning?

Through market segmentation and positioning, an enterprise can make an analysis and comparison of the purchase potential, satisfaction degree, competition situation and the characteristics of the consumers in each segment market, so as to explore the market opportunities which is beneficial to the enterprise, find out its’ own target customers which is its target market, for relatively small target markets, manufacture the products which will meet the needs of the market, make specific market strategies and new product expansion planning in time according to the production techniques and conditions of the enterprise, have the initiative in its hand of the updating of the product, expand new market to better meet the needs of the market. Besides, market segmentation is also helpful to dig out new segment markets and search potential market opportunities.

Case: McDonald’s takes an aim at the needs of its segment market
Look back of the development history of McDonald’s Corporation, we found that McDonald has always pay great attention to market segmentation. It made market segmentation accurately according to the geography, population and the psychological elements and carried out corresponding strategies so as to reach the marketing aim of the corporation. It is this that made McDonald’s had such great success which surprised the world. 


1. McDonald’s made market segmentation by the element of geography
McDonald’s has both domestic and oversea markets. Whether in domestic market or oversea market, there is specific eating habit and cultural background. McDonald makes market segmentation by geography. It mainly analyzes the difference among various regions. At the beginning when McDonald’s entered into China’s market, it popularized American culture and philosophy of life and use American-styled beef hamburger to conquer Chinese people. However, as Chinese people like chicken, chicken products cater to Chinese people’s taste more, thus much easier to be accepted by Chinese people. Give such a situation, McDonald’s changed its previous strategy and launched its chicken product. Then McDonald’s who only sells beef hamburger began to sell chicken hamburger. This change was made due to the geographical difference and it also helped McDonald’s accelerate its development pace in China market.

2. McDonald’s made market segmentation by the element of population
In the area of population, McDonald’s made market segmentation mainly according to age and life stage. McDonald’s takes children as its center-its main consumers, paying great attention to developing their loyalty. The children who eat in the restaurants often get a balloon with McDonald’s mark on it and some small gifts like paper folding. In China, there is also Uncle McDonald’s Club, where children aged 3 to 12 can attend. The club holds activities regularly to win the favor of the children to McDonald’s. This is successful market segmentation which grasps the characteristics and positioning of the segment market.

3. McDonald’s made market segmentation by the element of psychology
Fast food industry basically has two potential segment markets according to people’s way of living: Convenient-oriented and relaxing-oriented. Convenient-oriented people buy McDonald’s products for the convenience of purchase and eating. Relaxing-oriented people buy McDonald’s products in order to relax and kill time. For the convenient-oriented market, McDonald’s put forward ’59 seconds rapid service’, namely the standard time from ordering the food by the customers to leaving the counter with food is 59 seconds. It can’t be over 1 minute. For the relaxing-oriented market, McDonald’s pays great attention to the decoration of the restaurants, make customers feel comfortable and relaxing as much as it can and make its great efforts to let the customers regard McDonald’s as a good place for relaxation with unique culture.

当前位置:首页 >> 市场细分及定位

什么是市场细分及定位?

市场细分是指营销者通过市场调研,依据消费者的需要和欲望、购买行为和购买习惯等方面的差异,把某一产品的市场整体划分为若干消费者群的市场分类过程。每一个消费者群就是一个细分市场,每一个细分市场都是具有类似需求倾向的消费者构成的群体。

市场定位是指在市场细分的基础上,企业针对选择的细分市场完善出自己的产品和形象,确定在目标消费群心中与众不同的有价值的地位,换言之,通过市场定位使企业的产品相对于竞争者的产品,在消费者心目中占有特定的位置。

 

市场细分及定位能解决什么商业问题?

通过市场细分及定位,企业可以对每一个细分市场的购买潜力、满足程度、竞争情况、以及消费特征等进行分析对比,探索出有利于本企业的市场机会,确定自己的服务对象,即目标市场,针对较小的目标市场,生产出贴合目标市场需求的产品,及时制定特定的营销策略或根据本企业的生产技术条件制定新产品开拓计划,掌握产品更新换代的主动权,开拓新市场,以更好适应市场的需要。此外,市场细分还有助于企业挖掘新的细分市场,寻找潜在的市场机会。

案例:麦当劳瞄准细分市场需求
回顾麦当劳公司发展历程后发现,麦当劳一直非常重视市场细分的重要性,它根据地理、人口和心理要素准确地进行了市场细分,并分别实施了相应的战略,从而达到了企业的营销目标,而正是这一点让它取得令世人惊羡的巨大成功。

1. 麦当劳根据地理要素细分市场
麦当劳有美国国内和国际市场,而不管是在国内还是国外,都有各自不同的饮食习惯和文化背景。麦当劳进行地理细分,主要是分析各区域的差异。麦当劳刚进入中国市场时大量传播美国文化和生活理念,并以美国式产品牛肉汉堡来征服中国人。但中国人爱吃鸡,与其他洋快餐相比,鸡肉产品也更符合中国人的口味,更加容易被中国人所接受。针对这一情况,麦当劳改变了原来的策略,推出了鸡肉产品。在全世界从来只卖牛肉产品的麦当劳也开始卖鸡了。这一改变正是针对地理要素所做的,也加快了麦当劳在中国市场的发展步伐。

2. 麦当劳根据人口要素细分市场
麦当劳对人口要素细分主要是从年龄及生命周期阶段对人口市场进行细分,麦当劳以孩子为中心,把孩子作为主要消费者,十分注重培养他们的消费忠诚度。在餐厅用餐的小朋友,经常会意外获得印有麦当劳标志的气球、折纸等小礼物。在中国,还有麦当劳叔叔俱乐部,参加者为3~12岁的小朋友,定期开展活动,让小朋友更加喜爱麦当劳。这便是相当成功的人口细分,抓住了该市场的特征与定位。

3. 麦当劳根据心理要素细分市场
根据人们生活方式划分,快餐业通常有两个潜在的细分市场:方便型和休闲型。方便型人群指的是出于购买和食用方便的需要来麦当劳,休闲型人群指的是出于放松和消磨时间的需要来麦当劳。针对方便型市场,麦当劳提出“59秒快速服务”,即从顾客开始点餐到拿着食品离开柜台标准时间为59秒,不得超过一分钟。针对休闲型市场,麦当劳对餐厅店堂布置非常讲究,尽量做到让顾客觉得舒适自由,努力使顾客把麦当劳作为一个具有独特文化的休闲好去处。