Current position:Home >> Brand Positioning

What is brand image positioning?

Brand image positioning is the sum of the information, the impression and the association of the brand that a company conveys to the consumers.
Brand image positioning include two aspects:
the first aspect is the tangible content, called ‘brand functionality’, namely the ability of the product or the service to meet the functional demand of the consumer;
the second aspect is the intangible content, mainly the unique charm of the brand which is given by the marketing staff and perceived and accepted by the consumer. It reflects the emotional need of the people represent people’s personalized requirements for identity, status and psychology.
 

What kind of problems can be solved by brand image positioning?

When the consumer buys a product, whether a consumer buys a product or not depends on his/her accumulation of the cognition of the product and his/her distinctive personal characters and brand awareness. So it is important for an enterprise to set a distinctive image of its product in consumers’ mind, which is brand image positioning. Especially under the condition of buyer’s market where there is fierce competition among the alike products, brand image positioning is a more important factor that influences the success of an enterprise.

Brand image positioning can help an enterprise establish its brand core value and brand cultural elements according to its advantage, the characteristics of its product or service, consumers’ demand and market situation. Then guided by brand core value and brand cultural elements, design brand logo, select brand name combination, define brand attributes and make brand transmission plan. By carrying out every function of brand management, let the brand image envisioned by the enterprise enter into consumers’ mind. The purpose of brand image positioning is to set up a unique and valuable position of the product and brand in the target consumers’ mind.
 

Case:

Whether there is a good and distinctive brand image is an important evaluation index to measure the success of a brand. Looking at those world famous brands, we will have unique brand images of them in our mind. Marlboro came from out of nowhere into a famous brand not because of its better quality than other cigarette but its successful brand image positioning. When Marlboro just entered into the market, its target consumers are female. It used the advertisement words ‘mild as the weather in May’, but the effect turned out contrary to its wish. Though at that time the number of American who was smoking increase every year, Marlboro didn’t obtain a good sales. Though the positioning of the advertisement of female cigarette highlighted the brand individuality of Marlboro and catered to the preference of a certain group of people, it at the same time set an obstacle for the future development which causes the limitation of its consumers. After a large number of consumer surveys, Marlboro decided to remain its product quality while re-positioned its brand image. The advertisement of Marlboro no longer took woman as its target, but man instead. It highlighted machismo of the cigarette in the advertisement, adopted the new technology of flip-top box originated with Marlboro, and used red color as the main color of the packaging which symbolized strength so as to set up a brand image of ‘where there is true man, there is Marlboro’ in people’s mind. Marlboro finally became the leading brand in the cigarette industry.

当前位置:首页 >> 品牌形象定位

什么是品牌形象定位?

品牌形象定位是指企业在传播过程中传递给消费者的所有关于该品牌的信息、印象和联想的总和。
品牌形象定位包括两方面:
第一方面是有形的内容,又称为“品牌的功能性”,即产品或服务能满足消费者功能性需求的能力;
第二方面是无形的内容,主要指品牌的独特魅力,是营销者赋予品牌的,并为消费者感知、接受的个性特征,反映了人们的情感需要,显示人们的身份、地位及心理等个性化的要求。

 

品牌形象定位研究能解决什么问题?

消费者购买产品时,决定买或不买某一产品很大程度上取决于对该产品认知的积累及其鲜明的个性和品牌认知程度。所以对企业来讲,为自己产品在消费者心目中树立一个鲜明的形象即进行品牌形象定位是非常必要的,特别是在买方市场条件下,同类产品竞争激烈时,品牌形象定位更是影响企业成功的重要因素。

品牌形象定位研究可以帮助企业根据自己的优势、产品或服务的特点、消费者需求、市场状况等因素,确立起品牌核心价值和品牌文化要素。然后用品牌核心价值和品牌文化为指导,设计品牌标识、选择品牌名称组合、定义品牌属性、制订品牌传播方案,通过执行品牌管理的各项职能,让企业所预设的品牌形象进入目标消费者心中,其目的是在目标顾客心中确立产品及品牌与众不同的有价值的地位。
 

案例:

有没有好而鲜明的品牌形象,是衡量一个品牌成功与否的重要评价指标。看看那些世界著名品牌,我们都能在脑海里浮现出它们独特的品牌形象。万宝路从默默无闻到一举成名的香烟品牌,究其原因,并不是万宝路香烟在品质上比其他品牌的香烟都好,而是其成功的品牌形象定位。万宝路香烟最早推向市场时,将目标消费者选择为女性,使用了“像五月天气一样温和”的广告语,但事与愿违,尽管当时美国吸烟的人数年年上涨,但万宝路却一直销路平平。女士香烟的广告定位虽然突出了万宝路的品牌个性,提出了对某一类消费者的偏爱,但同时为未来的发展设置了障碍,导致它的消费者范围难以扩大。万宝路经过大量消费者调研后,决定保持产品品质不变,但是对品牌形象重新定位。万宝路的广告不再以妇女为主要对象,而是用更铮铮的男子行,在广告中强调香烟的男子汉气概,包装采用当时首创的平开试盒盖新技术,并用象征力量的红色作为外盒的主要色彩,在人们心目中树立起“哪里有男子汉,哪儿就有万宝路”的品牌形象,终于使万宝路成为烟草世界的领导品牌。