Current position:Home >> Market Share

What is market share research?

Market share is the ratio of a company’s sales volume (sales amount) to that of the likewise products in the market. It reflects the consumer and user satisfaction to the product and service provided by the company and shows the market position of the product offered by the company. Market share is the share that the product of the company occupies in the market and it is the control ability of the company to the market. The higher the market share is, the stronger a company’s operational and competitive strength is. With the constant expansion of a company’s market share, a company can obtain the monopoly in a certain way, which will not only bring the profit to the company but also retain its competitive advantage.
 

What kind of problem can be solved by market share research?

We used to evaluate a company’s performance by the indexes like sales growth rate, sales profit and return on investment while neglect market share, an important index. In the period when the economy develops rapidly, the market purchasing power is increasing year after year, and all the companies who among the competition can benefit from it. Even if it is a company with weak competitive strength, its sales will go up somewhat to gain profit. However, when the market demand is saturated, market growth rate is at a standstill. And the market competition is bound to be a fight in order to grab the share among the fixed and limited profit. Market share must also be considered in measuring a company’s performance. In the period when the market is sluggish, even if the sales volume decreases, as long as the market share rises up, the performance of the company is good. Because if the market share is high, once the market recovers, sales will increase sharply.
 

How to conduct market share research?

To know the proportion of the sales volume of the surveyed product in the whole market of its likewise products by second-hand data collection and consumer questionnaire survey; by comparing the change of the proportion of the sales volume in the past one month, past three months and past six months, analyze the trend of the change of sales volume. Combine this with the execution of market strategies, we will know the marketing effect. Besides, if a company masters the market share of its surveyed product, it can further analyze the current market situation it faces according to Lanchester’s Law.
 

Introduction of Lanchester’s Law:

The target value of market share educed by Lanchester’s Law can help you judge the position of your product among the competition:

1.Top limit of the target value: 73.9%
The company is monopolizing the market with absolute advantage. At this point, the company is absolutely safe among the competition. If he wants to obtain the share over 73.9%, it is not the best plan. This is because:
(1) Even if a company has obtained a monopolized share, it’s impossible for him to get 100% share as currently customers prefer diversification. The rest share is the loyal customers of other companies, namely his opponents. It will cost the company a lot of money if he takes these people as his target.
(2) It will lead to the competition with other industries.
(3) The relationship between market share and return on investment is like this: when the market share rises up from 10% to 74%, return on investment will increase correspondingly. But when the market share exceeds 74%, return on investment will gradually decrease.
(4) The demand will lack of elasticity. The fiercer the competition is, the bigger elasticity of the demand is. When the share reaches a monopolized level, the real competing relationship will decrease, and the demand will lack of elasticity.


2.Stable target value:41.7%
If there are three companies competing in the market, who get 41.7% market share first will surpass the other two competitors in the advantage position. He will become the mainstream of the industry and hold a safe lead soon.


3.Lower limit of the target value:26.1%
Though a certain company’s sales performance ranks the first, its position is not stable among the market competition. He may be surpassed by others at any time. The number 26.1% is a standard to measure whether a company is stable or not. If a company surpasses 26.1%, it means that he may stand out and take the lead.


The above three target values can help you identify the position of your company among the competition, look forward to the future, and know what target value you should move on.

当前位置:首页 >> 市场份额研究

什么是市场份额研究?

市场份额指一个企业的销售量(或销售额)在市场同类产品中所占的比重,直接反映企业所提供的商品和劳务对消费者和用户的满足程度,表明企业的商品在市场上所处的地位。市场份额是企业的产品在市场上所占份额,也就是企业对市场的控制能力。市场份额越高,表明企业经营、竞争能力越强。企业市场份额的不断扩大,可以使企业获得某种形式的垄断,这种垄断既能带来垄断利润又能保持一定的竞争优势。


 

市场份额研究能解决什么问题?

过去评价一个企业的业绩,通常运用的指标有:销售额增长率、销售利润率、投资报酬率,而往往忽略市场份额这个重要指标。在经济高速发展时期,市场购买力年年上升,所有参加竞争的企业都可以沾光,即使是竞争能力弱的企业,销售额也会有一定程度的上升而获得利润。然而当社会需求量饱和,市场增长率出现停滞的状况,市场竞争势必形成为在固定的、有限的利润中所占百分比的比例之争,对于这个百分比的争夺越激烈,竞争也就越激化。衡量企业的业绩,还必须考虑市场占有率。在市场疲软时期,即使销售量有所下降,但只要市场占有率上升,说明业绩不错,因为有高的市场占有率,一旦市场复苏,销售量就可以急剧上升。


 

如何进行市场份额研究?

通过二手资料收集和消费者问卷调研了解调研产品在同类产品市场中的销售额占比,比较过去一个月、过去三个月及过去半年的销售额占比变化,分析销售额变化的趋势。在此基础上,结合营销策略开展的时间,可以了解营销效果。此外,掌握调研产品的市场份额后,也可根据兰查斯特战略模式进一步分析企业面临的市场现状。


 

兰查斯特战略模式介绍:

你的品牌处于竞争中的什么位置,由兰查斯特战略模式导出的市场份额目标值可以帮助你做出判断:

1.上限目标值:73.9%
此为绝对优势的独占状态,此时企业在竞争中已处于绝对安全,取得比73.9%以上的份额不能算是上策,这是因为:
(1) 一个企业即使已有独占性份额,但在顾客喜欢多样化的今天,想达到100%的份额是不可能的,剩下来的是其他企业的忠实顾客,对独占企业来说则属反对派,要以这些人为目标对象,花费是相当大的;
(2) 会导致和其他业界的竞争;
(3) 市场份额与投资回报率的关系是随着份额由10% 上升到74%,投资回报率也跟着上升,但份额超过74%,投资回报率上升则逐渐减弱;
(4) 需求缺乏弹性,竞争越激烈,需求弹性就越大,当份额达到独占的水平时,实质的竞争关系也就减少了,需求就越来越缺乏弹性。


2.安定目标值:41.7%
在市场中,如果有三家以上公司竞争时,只要谁先取得41.7%的市场份额,就可以超越其他竞争者,处于优势的位置,不仅成为业界主流,而且很快就能遥遥领先。


3.下限目标值:26.1%
某企业销售成绩虽然排第一,但在市场竞争中,其地位也不一定是稳定的,随时有被超过的可能。而稳定和不稳定可以用26.1%这个数值作为衡量的标准,超过26.1%则表示有可能从势均力敌中脱颖而出形成领先的地位。


以上三个目标值可以帮助你认识自己的公司正处于竞争中的什么位置,以及对今后的展望和应该朝多少的目标值继续前进。